Fred Perpall Elected as 67th USGA President
Henry, Lewis and McCarthy Added to Executive Committee Ranks

NAPA, Calif. (Feb. 25, 2023) – Fred Perpall of Dallas, Texas, was elected to serve as the 67th president of the USGA today at the Association’s Annual Meeting in Napa, Calif.

Perpall will serve a three-year term leading the USGA Executive Committee, the all-volunteer policy-making board that provides strategic direction and oversight to the Association’s full-time staff.

“We talk too much about what separates us, and not enough about what unites us. In golf, we’re a community,” said Perpall, who addressed the USGA’s Member Clubs, Allied Golf Associations and invited guests Saturday afternoon upon his election. “When we lean in together, when we include more people in the game, not only will the game get better, but our lives will get better, too.”

Perpall was first elected to the Executive Committee in 2019 and has served on the Governance, Nominating, and Compensation/Leadership Development committees. In 2021 he became the chair of the USGA Championship Committee, which introduced the U.S. Adaptive Open during his tenure along with the announcement of several USGA championship anchor sites. He was appointed president-elect during last year’s Annual Meeting.

“The USGA is stronger with global business leaders like Fred on our board,” said Mike Whan, USGA CEO. “Beyond his work with golf in the last three years, Fred clearly loves the game and wants to leave it better than he found it. We couldn’t ask for better energy to propel our strategy and mission, and we’re rolling up our sleeves with that inspiration and drive to guide us.”

A native of the Bahamas, Perpall earned his bachelor’s and master’s degrees from the University of Texas at Arlington and is a graduate of the Harvard Business School’s Advanced Management Program. He played basketball and ran track in college and was a member of the 1994 Bahamian National Basketball Team. 

A registered architect, Perpall is CEO of The Beck Group, where he leads the firm’s domestic and international architectural design, planning, real estate consultancy and construction businesses. He is an avid golfer and was a member of the board that helped build Trinity Forest Golf Club in Dallas.

He welcomes three new members elected to the USGA Executive Committee, who will also each serve three-year terms beginning today. They are Leslie Henry of Houston, Texas; Bryan Lewis of South Haven, Mich.; and Michael McCarthy of San Francisco, Calif.

In addition, Courtney Myhrum of Pittsburgh, Pa., was elected to serve a second three-year term at Saturday’s meeting.

They will all serve on the committee with current members Tony Anderson of Chicago, Ill.; Chuck Brymer of Rancho Santa Fe, Calif.; Sinclair Eaddy Jr., of Baltimore, Md.; Cathy Engelbert of Berkeley Heights, N.J.; Kendra Graham of Winter Park, Fla.; Kevin Hammer of Boynton Beach, Fla.; Deborah Platt Majoras of Cincinnati, Ohio; Tony Petitti of Irvington, N.Y.; and Sharon Ritchey of Longboat Key, Fla. 

Departing the Executive Committee after completing their service are Thomas Barkin, Paul Brown and Nick Price, as well as Stuart Francis, whose three-year term as USGA president ended this week.

The USGA also released its 2022 Annual Report at the meeting, which can be found here.

Photography from the event can be accessed here. It includes all who were elected and celebrated, including USGA annual award recipients James Roth (Herbert Warren Wind Award for “Blessed One,” recognizing outstanding achievement in golf literature); Roch Gaussoin (Green Section Award, honoring efforts to propel golf sustainability and agronomy) and Robin Farran (Joe Dey Award, recognizing exemplary service as a volunteer).