16 Players Added to 120th U.S. Open Championship Field at Winged Foot Golf Club
Exemptions Based on Korn Ferry Tour Series and Official World Golf Ranking of Aug. 23

LIBERTY CORNER, N.J. (Aug. 31, 2020) – The United States Golf Association (USGA) today announced that 16 additional players have earned exemptions into the 120th U.S. Open Championship, which will be contested at Winged Foot Golf Club (West Course), in Mamaroneck, N.Y., on Sept. 17-20, 2020. The 144-player field for the championship will be entirely made up of exempt players due to the impact of the COVID-19 pandemic.

Five players earned entry based on the three-event 2020 Korn Ferry Tour Series, which began with the Albertsons Boise Open and ended with the Tour Championship on Aug. 30. Exemptions also went to 11 players, who were not otherwise exempt, based on Week 34 of the Official World Golf Ranking (OWGR), as of Aug. 23.

Additionally, Francesco Molinari, of Italy, who won the 2018 Open Championship, conducted by The R&A, has withdrawn and Jung-Gon Hwang, of the Republic of Korea, will not play this year due to a military service commitment, leaving the current field list at 139 players. The remaining spots in the U.S. Open field will be filled by the 2019-20 FedExCup Final Points List (top five players, not otherwise exempt) following the Tour Championship, which concludes on Monday, Sept. 7.

The Korn Ferry Tour Series exempt players are: Brandon Wu, 23, of Scarsdale, N.Y.; Stephan Jaeger, 31, of Chattanooga, Tenn.; Curtis Luck, 24, of Australia; Greyson Sigg, 25, of Augusta, Ga.; and Dan McCarthy, 35, of Syracuse, N.Y.

Wu, who tied for 35th as an amateur in his first U.S. Open last year at Pebble Beach (Calif.) Golf Links, shot a final-round 65 to win last weekend’s Korn Ferry Tour Championship. Sigg was the runner-up to Wu and will make his first U.S. Open start. Jaeger, who will play in his third U.S. Open, won the Albertsons Boise Open, while Curtis Luck was victorious in the Nationwide Children’s Hospital Championship to garner a spot in his first U.S. Open. McCarthy will compete in his second U.S. Open but first since 2010.

The OWGR exempt players are: No. 48 Kevin Streelman, of Scottsdale, Ariz.; No. 53 Harris English, of St. Simons Island, Ga.; No. 68 J.T. Poston, of Hickory, N.C.; No. 71 Joaquin Niemann, of Chile; No. 73 Thomas Pieters, of Belgium; No. 75 Max Homa, of Valencia, Calif.; No. 78 Lanto Griffin, of Blacksburg, Va.; No. 79 Mike Lorenzo-Vera, of France; No. 84 Matthias Schwab, of Austria; No. 87 Alex Noren, of Sweden; and No. 89 Matt Jones, of Australia.

Streelman, 41, will play in his seventh U.S. Open. His best finish is a tie for 13th in 2016 at Oakmont (Pa.) Country Club. Streelman has four top-10 finishes on the PGA Tour this season, including runner-up to Nick Taylor in the AT&T Pebble Beach Pro-Am. English, who placed second behind Dustin Johnson in The Northern Trust earlier this month, will compete in his fifth U.S. Open. The 31-year-old has two career PGA Tour wins.

Poston, 27, and Niemann, 21, will each make his second U.S. Open start after they both competed in 2017 at Erin Hills. Poston, who tied for eighth in the RBC Heritage, has six top-25 finishes on the PGA Tour this season. Niemann posted a six-stroke victory in A Military Tribute at The Greenbrier on Sept. 15 for his first PGA Tour win, and tied for third in Sunday’s BMW Championship.

Pieters, 28, will compete in his third U.S. Open. He primarily plays on the European Tour, where he owns four career victories. He tied for third in the Celtic Classic on Aug. 16. Homa, 29, will make his second U.S. Open start, having played in 2013 at Merion Golf Club. He has registered four top-10 efforts on the PGA Tour this season, including a tie for third in the 3M Open.

Griffin, 32, won for the first time on the PGA Tour in the Houston Open on Oct. 13. He will make his second U.S. Open start. Lorenzo-Vera, who competes on the European Tour, will play in his first Open. The 35-year-old was two strokes off the 36-hole lead in this year’s PGA Championship before finishing in a tie for 43rd.

Schwab, 25, will make his U.S. Open debut, while Noren, 38, who has recorded 10 European Tour victories, will play in his eighth Open. Jones, 40, will compete in his fifth U.S. Open.

The list of the 139 golfers who are currently in the 2020 U.S. Open field (as of Aug. 31):

Byeong-Hun An   Jazz Janewattananond   Andrew Putnam
Abraham Ancer   Marty Jertson   Jon Rahm
a-John Augenstein   Dustin Johnson   Chez Reavie
Danny Balin   Zach Johnson   Patrick Reed
Paul Barjon   Matt Jones   Davis Riley
Daniel Berger   a-Takumi Kanaya   J.C. Ritchie
Christiaan Bezuidenhout   Sunghoon Kang   Justin Rose
Keegan Bradley   Martin Kaymer   a-Eduard Rousaud
Rafa Cabrera Bello   Chan Kim   Xander Schauffele
Patrick Cantlay   Si Woo Kim   Scottie Scheffler
Paul Casey   Kevin Kisner   Matthias Schwab
a-Ricky Castillo   Kurt Kitayama   Adam Scott
Cameron Champ   Brooks Koepka   a-Sandy Scott
Corey Conners   Jason Kokrak   Greyson Sigg
Joel Dahmen   Matt Kuchar   Webb Simpson
Jason Day   Romain Langasque   Cameron Smith
Bryson DeChambeau   Marc Leishman   Brandt Snedeker
Thomas Detry   Tom Lewis   Jordan Spieth
Harris English   Adam Long   Henrik Stenson
Tony Finau   Mike Lorenzo-Vera   Kevin Streelman
Matthew Fitzpatrick   Shane Lowry   Steve Stricker
Tommy Fleetwood   Curtis Luck   a-James Sugrue
Rickie Fowler   Robert MacIntyre   Andy Sullivan
Ryan Fox   Hideki Matsuyama   a-Preston Summerhays
Sergio Garcia   Dan McCarthy   Connor Syme
Lucas Glover   Graeme McDowell   Justin Thomas
Lanto Griffin   Rory McIlroy   a-Davis Thompson
Chesson Hadley   Troy Merritt   Michael Thompson
Adam Hadwin   a-Lukas Michel   Brendon Todd
a-Cole Hammer   Phil Mickelson   Sami Valimaki
Justin Harding   Collin Morikawa   Erik van Rooyen
Tyrrell Hatton    Kevin Na   Ryan Vermeer
Scott Hend   Joaquin Niemann   Jimmy Walker
Lucas Herbert   Alex Noren   Matt Wallace
Jim Herman   Shaun Norris   Bubba Watson
Lee Hodges   a-Andy Ogletree   Richy Werenski
Rasmus Hojgaard   Louis Oosthuizen   Lee Westwood
Max Homa   Adrian Otaegui   Bernd Wiesberger
Billy Horschel   a-John Pak   Danny Willett
Sam Horsfield   Ryan Palmer   Matthew Wolff
Viktor Hovland   Renato Paratore   Gary Woodland
Charles Howell III   Taylor Pendrith   Tiger Woods
Mackenzie Hughes   Eddie Pepperell   Brandon Wu
Sungjae Im   Victor Perez   a-Chun An Yu
Shugo Imahira   Thomas Pieters   Will Zalatoris
Ryo Ishikawa   J.T. Poston    
Stephan Jaeger   Ian Poulter    

Bold – U.S. Open champion      a-amateur

About the USGA
The USGA is a nonprofit organization that celebrates, serves and advances the game of golf. Founded in 1894, we conduct many of golf’s premier professional and amateur championships, including the U.S. Open and U.S. Women’s Open. With The R&A, we govern the sport via a global set of playing, equipment, handicapping and amateur status rules. The USGA campus in Liberty Corner, New Jersey, is home to the Association’s Research and Test Center, where science and innovation are fueling a healthy and sustainable game for the future. The campus is also home to the USGA Golf Museum, where we honor the game by curating the world’s most comprehensive archive of golf artifacts. To learn more, visit usga.org.

For further information: Brian DePasquale, USGA Communications, bdepasquale@usga.org, 908-655-8395