Mark Newell Elected to Second Term as USGA President
Stuart Francis named president-elect; three newcomers join Executive Committee
President of the USGA Executive Committee Mark Newell
USGA President Mark Newell
“Our collective commitment to impact and focus on ensuring the game’s future has never been stronger. It’s an exciting time to be a part of the USGA.”

LIBERTY CORNER, N.J. (Feb. 23, 2019) – Mark Newell, of McLean, Va., has been elected to serve a second term as the 65th president of the USGA. The election took place at the Association’s Annual Meeting in San Antonio, Texas, on Feb. 23, 2019.

Newell will continue to lead the 15-member volunteer USGA Executive Committee, which serves as the policy-making board and provides strategic direction and oversight to the Association through its full-time staff, based in Liberty Corner, N.J.

“It’s an honor to be elected to a second term and have the opportunity to give another year of service to the game as USGA president,” said Newell, who begins his seventh year on the Executive Committee. “Our collective commitment to impact and focus on ensuring the game’s future has never been stronger. It’s an exciting time to be a part of the USGA.”

Stuart Francis of Hillsborough, Calif., was named president-elect, to ensure committee leadership succession and continuity. Beginning his fifth year on the governing board, Francis chairs the USGA Championship Committee and serves on the Equipment Standards Committee. 

Three new committee members were also elected. Anthony (Tony) Anderson of Chicago, Ill.; Deborah Platt Majoras of Cincinnati, Ohio; and Fred Perpall of Dallas, Texas, join the Executive Committee. They assume seats vacated by retiring members Gregory Morrison, Mark Reinemann and Clifford Shahbaz.

Two current members of the Executive Committee were elected to serve as officers. Martha Lang will serve as secretary, and Thomas Barkin as treasurer. Other current members elected to continue their service are: Michael Bailey, Stephen Beebe, Paul Brown, Kendra Graham, Robert Kain, Nick Price, Sharon Ritchey and William Siart. Dick Shortz has also been elected to continue his service as general counsel.

“The 15 volunteers who comprise the USGA Executive Committee represent an inspiring commitment to our mission to serve the best interests of the game, for all who love and play it,” said Mike Davis, USGA chief executive officer.

About the USGA
The USGA celebrates, serves and advances the game of golf. Founded in 1894, we conduct many of golf’s premier professional and amateur championships, including the U.S. Open and U.S. Women’s Open. With The R&A, we govern the sport via a global set of playing, equipment and amateur status rules. Our operating jurisdiction for these governance functions is the United States, its territories and Mexico. The USGA Handicap System is utilized in more than 40 countries and our Course Rating System covers 95 percent of the world’s golf courses, enabling all golfers to play on an equitable basis. The USGA campus in Liberty Corner, New Jersey, is home to the Association’s Research and Test Center, where science and innovation are fueling a healthy and sustainable game for the future. The campus is also home to the USGA Golf Museum, where we honor the game by curating the world’s most comprehensive archive of golf artifacts. To learn more, visit

For further information: Janeen Driscoll, Communications Director