USGA Opens Nominations for 2023 Bob Jones Award
Public submissions for USGA’s highest honor are welcomed through Oct. 28, 2022

LIBERTY CORNER, N.J. (Oct. 4, 2022) – The USGA has opened nominations for the 2023 Bob Jones Award and welcomes submissions from the global golf community for one of the game’s highest honors, recognizing those who exemplify golf’s core values of sportsmanship, character and respect while playing the game.  

Bob Jones Award recipients are honored annually at the U.S. Open Championship, celebrating those individuals who, in the spirit of its namesake, have conducted themselves with great integrity through adversity or victory. Beyond his playing career – with a record-tying nine USGA championship titles – Jones embodied the game’s values throughout his life.

“This award is all about elevating the players who exemplify the same traits that Bob Jones consistently demonstrated, and those who continue to make our game great,” said USGA CEO Mike Whan. “Fairness, humility and respect are fundamental traits that any golfer must have, and we recognize those individuals who uphold them and inspire future generations to play by the same traditions.”

Nominations and letters of recommendation from anyone who loves golf can be submitted to the USGA via email to The correspondence should include support for the submission that references the above award criteria. The deadline for receipt is Oct. 28, 2022, at 5 p.m. EDT.

Five-time USGA champion Juli Inkster received the honor in 2022 for the high level of esteem she upholds for the game’s traditions and the respect she has earned from her peers throughout her playing career. Other notable recipients of the award, which has been given annually since 1955, include Arnold Palmer, Jack Nicklaus, Babe Zaharias, Mickey Wright, Nancy Lopez, President George H.W. Bush, Lee Elder and Se Ri Pak. A complete list can be found here.

The 2023 recipient will be announced in February at the USGA’s Annual Meeting and formally honored during the week of the 123rd U.S. Open Championship at The Los Angeles Country Club in June.