USGA Announces Retirement of Men’s and Women’s State Team Championships
The Club at Las Campanas, in Santa Fe, N.M., will host the final Women’s State Team in September

FAR HILLS, N.J. (March 30, 2017) – The United States Golf Association (USGA) today announced the

retirement of the Men’s State Team Championship and Women’s State Team Championship, following

the completion of the 2017 competitions calendar.

“The USGA continually evaluates its championships and the way in which they are conducted,” said

Stuart Francis, USGA Championship Committee chairman. “The decision to discontinue the State Team

Championships follows a thorough review and analysis, including consultation with representatives from

state and regional golf associations.”

The USGA State Team Championships were first conducted in 1995 as part of the Association’s

centennial celebration and were originally intended to be one-time only events. The championships, in

which each state was represented by non-collegiate, amateur golfers, helped cap the USGA’s year-long


State and regional golf associations sent three-player male and female teams to compete in a stroke-play

format similar to the World Amateur Team Championship, in which the best two scores of each state’s

three competitors counted on each of the three days of competition. Due to its initial success, the

championship continued on a biennial basis and eventually all 50 states, Puerto Rico and the District of

Columbia competed.

The Club at Las Campanas (Sunset Course), in Santa Fe, N.M., will host the final Women’s State Team

on Sept. 26-28, 2017. In 2015, Georgia rallied past second-round leader Florida to post a three-stroke

victory and claim the Judy Bell Trophy. The Men’s State Team was conducted for the last time in 2016 at

the Country Club of Birmingham (Ala.), where Michigan won the championship by three strokes over

Arizona and North Carolina. Each championship will have been contested a total of 12 times.

The retirement of the State Team Championships, coupled with the addition of the inaugural U.S. Senior

Women’s Open Championship, to be held on July 12-15 at Chicago Golf Club, in Wheaton, Ill., transforms

the USGA championship model starting in 2018.

“The USGA expresses its gratitude to all the champions and competitors of the USGA State Team

Championships, as well as the host clubs and the hundreds of volunteers who contributed their time and

efforts,” said John Bodenhamer, USGA senior managing director, Championships and Governance. “In

our reviews and discussions, it became quite clear that the conditions of competition had evolved, and

there were significant differences in the respective team selection processes. After considering the matter

for more than a year, the review supported increased focus toward other areas of USGA competition,

both present and future, including the continued enhancement of the local and sectional qualifying

experience for players across all USGA championships.”

Both championships boast a list of impressive performances over their histories. John Harris, the 1993

U.S. Amateur champion and four-time USA Walker Cup Team member, led Minnesota to Men’s State

Team victories in 1997 and 2001. The 2003 U.S. Amateur Public Links champion, Brandt Snedeker, who

has won eight PGA Tour titles, and Tim Jackson, who won a pair of U.S. Mid-Amateurs, helped

Tennessee win the 2003 crown. Nathan Smith, a four-time U.S. Mid-Amateur champion and a member of

three USA Walker Cup Teams, helped Pennsylvania to the 2009 championship. Texas captured a record

four Men’s State Teams, including 2007 when Trip Kuehne, who won that year’s Mid-Amateur, was a key


The Women’s State Team has also attracted an array of the game’s top players. Carol Semple

Thompson, who has won seven USGA championships, including the 1973 U.S. Women’s Amateur,

helped Pennsylvania garner the inaugural Women’s State Team in 1995. Virginia Derby Grimes, the 2018

USA Curtis Cup captain and 1998 U.S. Women’s Mid-Amateur winner, led Alabama to its lone title in

1997. Mariah Stackhouse, who became the first African American player to compete for the USA Curtis

Cup Team in 2014 and led Stanford to the NCAA title the following year, helped Georgia to the second of

its four State Team titles in 2009, while Margaret Shirley-Starosto, the 2014 U.S. Women’s Mid-Amateur

champion, contributed to the Peach State’s record fourth championship in 2015. Laura Coble, the 2009

Women’s Mid-Amateur runner-up, was part of Georgia’s first three winning entries.

With the addition of the U.S. Senior Women’s Open and discontinuation of the USGA State Team

Championships, the USGA will conduct 14 championships in 2018.

2018 USGA Championships (14)

U.S. Open Championship, Shinnecock Hills Golf Club, Southampton, N.Y., June 14-17

U.S. Women’s Open Championship, Shoal Creek (Ala.), May 31-June 3

U.S. Senior Open Championship, The Broadmoor Golf Club, Colorado Springs, Colo., June 28-July 1

U.S. Senior Women’s Open Championship, Chicago Golf Club, Wheaton, Ill., July 12-15

U.S. Amateur Championship, Pebble Beach (Calif.) Golf Links, Aug. 13-19

U.S. Women’s Amateur Championship, The Golf Club of Tennessee, Kingston Springs, Tenn., Aug. 6-12

U.S. Girls’ Junior Championship, Poppy Hills Golf Course, Pebble Beach, Calif., July 16-21

U.S. Junior Amateur Championship, Baltusrol Golf Club, Springfield, N.J., July 16-21

U.S. Mid-Amateur Championship, Charlotte (N.C.) Country Club, Sept. 22-27

U.S. Women’s Mid-Amateur Championship, Norwood Hills Country Club, St. Louis, Mo., Sept. 22-27

U.S. Senior Amateur Championship, Eugene (Ore.) Country Club, Aug. 25-30

U.S. Senior Women’s Amateur Championship, Orchid Island Golf & Beach Club, Vero Beach, Fla., Oct. 6-11

U.S. Amateur Four-Ball Championship, Jupiter Hills Club, Tequesta, Fla., May 19-23

U.S. Women’s Amateur Four-Ball Championship, El Caballero Country Club, Tarzana, Calif., April 28-May 2