USGA Awards

Herbert Warren Wind Book Award

Presented  by the USGA since 1987

The Herbert Warren Wind Book Award was established in 1987. The award recognizes and honors outstanding contributions to golf literature while attempting to broaden the public’s interest in, and knowledge of, the game of golf. Wind, who died in 2005, was the famed writer for The New Yorker and Sports Illustrated who coined the phrase “Amen Corner” at Augusta National. He is the only writer to win the USGA’s Bob Jones Award, the Association’s highest honor.

Award Winners:                                                                                                     

1987 Al Barkow             Getting the Dance Floor
1989   Phil Pilley         Golfing Art
1990  Robert Trent Jones Sr. with Larry Dennis          Golf’s Magnificent Challenge
1991  Bobby Burnet            The St. Andrews Opens
1992 Rhonda Glenn         The Illustrated History of Women’s Golf
1997 Davis Love III           Every Shot I Take
1998 Lawrence Donegan             Maybe It Should Have Been a Three-Iron
1999 David Owen         The Making of the Masters
2000  Stephen Lowe           Sir Walter and Mr. Jones
2001  Bradley S. Klein             Discovering Donald Ross: The Architect and His Golf Courses
2002 Mark Frost         The Greatest Game Ever Played
2003  Phil Pilley           Heather and Heaven
2004 James Dodson            Ben Hogan, An American Life
2005 John Strege         When War Played Through
2006  James Finegan           Where Golf Is Great
2007  Kevin Cook            Tommy’s Honor
2008   David Malcolm & Peter E. Crabtree              Tom Morris of St. Andrews: The Colossus of Golf 1821-1908
2009  John de St. Jorre          The Story of Golf at The Country Club
2009   David Barrett              Mirace at Merion: The Inspiring Story of Ben Hogan’s Amazing Comeback and Victory at the 1950 U.S. Open
2011  Don Van Natta, Jr              Wonder Girl: The Magnificent Sporting Life of Babe Didrikson Zaharias
2012  James Dodson              American Triumvirate: Sam Snead, Byron Nelson, Ben Hogan, and The Modern Age of Golf
2013  Jeff Silverman             Merion: The Championship Story
2014  James Hansen             A Difficult Par: Robert Trent Jones Sr. and the Making of  Modern Golf
2015  Roger McStravick          St. Andrews: In the Footsteps of Old Tom Morris
2016 Kevin Robbins             Harvey Penick: The Life and Wisdom of the Man Who Wrote the Book on Golf
2017 Peter Lewis            Why Are There Eighteen Holes?: St. Andrews and the Evolution of Golf Courses, 1764-1890 

  No award was given in 1988 or from 1996-1996. 

Awards & Trophies buttons