LIBERTY CORNER, N.J. (May 13, 2021) – The United States Golf Association (USGA) today announced that it has accepted 2,999 entries for the 41st U.S. Senior Open Championship, scheduled for July 8-11, 2021 at Omaha (Neb.) Country Club. Twelve past champions are among the 84 players who are currently fully exempt into the championship.

Kenny Perry, the 2013 and 2017 champion, and 11 other Senior Open champions are fully exempt from having to qualify for the championship. They are: Olin Browne (2011), Brad Bryant (2007), Roger Chapman (2012), Fred Funk (2009), Bernhard Langer (2010), Jeff Maggert (2015), Colin Montgomerie (2014), Don Pooley (2002), Eduardo Romero (2008), Gene Sauers (2016) and David Toms (2018).

"The USGA is pleased that the number of entries and worldwide interest in the U.S. Senior Open remains consistently high," said John Bodenhamer, USGA senior managing director, Championships. "We are excited to bring senior golf's most prestigious championship to the City of Omaha and Nebraska for a second time and we look forward to awarding the Francis D. Ouimet Memorial Trophy to another worthy champion."

This year's total number of entries is the third-highest in championship history. The record was established in 2002, when 3,101 golfers applied to play. The USGA accepted entries from golfers in all 50 states, including 22 from host state Nebraska, as well as the District of Columbia and 41 foreign countries.

The USGA has also awarded a special exemption into the 41st U.S. Senior Open to two-time Masters Tournament champion Jose Maria Olazabal, of Spain. Olazabal, 55, won the Masters in 1994 and 1999 and has recorded six PGA Tour and 23 European Tour victories. He played in 18 U.S. Opens and his best finish was a tie for eighth in both 1990 and 1991. Olazabal, who will compete in his first U.S. Senior Open, was inducted into the World Golf Hall of Fame in 2009.

The U.S. Senior Open is open to professional golfers, and amateurs with a Handicap Index® not exceeding 3.4 who are at least 50 years of age at the start of championship play.

Qualifying will be played over 18 holes at 34 sites across the United States between May 17 and June 14. There are qualifying sites in 27 states, including five in California, three in Florida and two in Texas. Additional places in the 156-player field are reserved for eligible winners of official PGA Tour and PGA Tour Champions events in the weeks remaining before the 2021 U.S. Senior Open.

There are also six U.S. Open champions among the 84 exempt players. They include two-time champions Ernie Els (1994, 1997), Retief Goosen (2001, 2004) and Lee Janzen (1993, 1998), as well as Jim Furyk (2003), Michael Campbell (2005) and Corey Pavin (1995). Seven U.S. Open runners-up are also entered: Els (2000), Furyk (2006, 2007, 2016), Miguel Angel Jimenez (2000), Tom Lehman (1996), Rocco Mediate (2008), Montgomerie (1994, 1997, 2006) and Jeff Sluman (1992).

Chris Germann, a 58-year-old amateur from Austin, Texas, submitted his entry four minutes before the deadline of 5 p.m. EDT on May 12. Doug Clapp, a 53-year-old amateur from Walpole, Mass., was the first entrant on Feb. 24.

Omaha Country Club will become the seventh course to host the U.S. Senior Open Championship twice. The club was the host site in 2013 when Perry won the first of his two Senior Open titles. This will be the fourth USGA championship held in Nebraska.

More information about the U.S. Senior Open before, during and after the 2021 championship at Omaha Country Club can be found at <u>ussenioropen.com</u>.

The list of the 84 golfers who are fully exempt into the 2021 U.S. Senior Open (as of May 12):

Stephen Ames	Bob Estes	a-Roger Newsom
Billy Andrade	Steve Flesch	Jose Maria Olazabal
Woody Austin	Peter Fowler	Mark O'Meara
Peter Baker	*Fred Funk	Rod Pampling
Doug Barron	Jim Furyk	Scott Parel
Rich Beem	Doug Garwood	Corey Pavin
Shane Bertsch	Retief Goosen	Tom Pernice Jr.
Thomas Bjorn	Paul Goydos	*Kenny Perry
Markus Brier	Jay Haas	Tim Petrovic
Paul Broadhurst	Thongchai Jaidee	*Don Pooley
*Olin Browne	Lee Janzen	Philip Price
Bart Bryant	Miguel Angel Jimenez	Brett Quigley
*Brad Bryant	Brandt Jobe	Fran Quinn
Tom Byrum	Kent Jones	Jean-Francois Remesy
Mark Calcavecchia	Robert Karlsson	*Eduardo Romero
Michael Campbell	Jerry Kelly	a-Bob Royak
Alex Cejka	James Kingston	*Gene Sauers
*Roger Chapman	Masahiro Kuramoto	David Shacklady
Darren Clarke	Barry Lane	Wes Short Jr.
Jose Coceres	*Bernhard Langer	Vijay Singh
Fred Couples	Paul Lawrie	Jeff Sluman
Marco Dawson	Tom Lehman	Kevin Sutherland
Glen Day	*Jeff Maggert	Ken Tanigawa

Ernie Els	*Colin Montgomerie	Mike Weir
Joe Durant	Rocco Mediate	Scott Verplank
Ken Duke	David McKenzie	Kirk Triplett
Chris DiMarco	Scott McCarron	*David Toms
Clark Dennis	Billy Mayfair	Tommy Tolles

^{* –} U.S. Senior Open champion a-amateur

About the USGA

The USGA is a nonprofit organization that celebrates, serves and advances the game of golf. Founded in 1894, we conduct many of golf's premier professional and amateur championships, including the U.S. Open and U.S. Women's Open. With The R&A, we govern the sport via a global set of playing, equipment, handicapping and amateur status rules. The USGA campus in Liberty Corner, New Jersey, is home to the Association's Research and Test Center, where science and innovation are fueling a healthy and sustainable game for the future. The campus is also home to the USGA Golf Museum, where we honor the game by curating the world's most comprehensive archive of golf artifacts. To learn more, visit <u>usga.org.</u>

For further information: Brian DePasquale, bdepasquale@usga.org

https://mediacenter.usga.org/press-releases?item=122876