USGA Media Center

LIBERTY CORNER, N.J. (April 18, 2019) – Thirteen past champions and 47 of the top 50 players in the world are among those entered in the 74th U.S. Women's Open Championship, which will be conducted by the United States Golf Association from May 30-June 2, 2019, at the Country Club of Charleston in Charleston, S.C. Championship entries closed at 5 p.m. EDT on Wednesday, April 17.

"We are excited to see such a strong group of entrants from around the world for the 74th U.S. Women's Open Championship," said Shannon Rouillard, senior director, Championships for the USGA. "We can't wait to see the game's best take on this fantastic Seth Raynor-designed golf course, which we know will provide the ultimate test of golf and thrill fans from around the world."

"We are excited to see such a strong group of entrants from around the world for the 74th U.S. Women's Open Championship," said Shannon Rouillard, senior director, Championships for the USGA.

This marks the sixth consecutive year the U.S. Women's Open has received more than 1,500 entries, with the USGA accepting 1,552 entries for this year's championship. The 2015 championship at Lancaster (Pa.) Country Club holds the entry record with 1,873. The USGA accepted entries from golfers in 47 states, 32 entrants from South Carolina among them, and a total of 62 countries.

To be eligible for the U.S. Women's Open, a player must have a Handicap Index® not exceeding 2.4, or be a professional. Sectional qualifying will be conducted over 36 holes between April 22-May 8. Qualifying will be held at 21 sites in the United States, as well as four international sites: one each in England, Japan, the People's Republic of China and the Republic of Korea.

Ariya Jutanugarn, of Thailand, who won the 2018 U.S. Women's Open at Shoal Creek in Birmingham, Ala., is one of the 13 fully exempt U.S. Women's Open champions. Jutanugarn is joined by Sung Hyun Park (2017), Brittany Lang (2016), In Gee Chun (2015), Michelle Wie (2014), Inbee Park (2013, 2008), Na Yeon Choi (2012), So Yeon Ryu (2011), Paula Creamer (2010), Eun-Hee Ji (2009), Cristie Kerr (2007), Karrie Webb (2001, 2000) and Laura Davies (1987), who earned an exemption based on her victory in the inaugural U.S. Senior Women's Open last July.

Two-time U.S. Women's Open champion Karrie Webb, of Australia, has accepted a special exemption into the championship. Webb, 44, won the 2000 U.S. Women's Open at The Merit Club in Gurnee, Ill., defeating Kerr and Meg Mallon by five strokes. In 2001, Webb defeated Se Ri Pak by eight strokes at Pine Needles Lodge & Golf Club in Southern Pines, N.C., to become the 12th player to win multiple U.S. Women's Opens. Webb's 23 consecutive Women's Opens entering this year is the longest active streak. Webb received a special exemption into the championship last year, when she missed the cut at Shoal Creek. She is a 41-time winner on the LPGA Tour and 15-time winner on the Ladies European Tour.

Brittany Lincicome, currently No. 37 in the Rolex Women's World Golf Rankings, and Sarah Jane Smith, who tied for fifth in last year's championship at Shoal Creek, have chosen to take advantage of the U.S. Women's Open's family-friendly <u>Maternity Extension Opportunity</u>, and will defer their exemptions until the

2020 championship at Champions Golf Club in Houston, Texas.

This will be the second USGA championship conducted at the Country Club of Charleston. In 2013, Emma Talley defeated Yueer Cindy Feng, 1 up, to win the U.S. Women's Amateur Championship. Talley is among the 100 players who are currently fully exempt into the championship, as are Gerina Mendoza and Suzann Pettersen, who chose to defer their 2018 exemptions to 2019, per the maternity opportunity.

The championship's youngest entrant is 11-year-old Seojin Park, of the Republic of Korea. She will attempt to qualify at the sectional qualifying site in Incheon, Korea, on April 25. Avery Zweig, 12, of McKinney, Texas, will try to qualify in Maple Grove, Minn., on May 7. Laura Baugh, 63, is the championship's oldest entrant. She will attempt to qualify in Bradenton, Fla., on May 6.

Celine Herbin, a 36-year-old professional from France, was the first to apply when entries opened on Feb. 20. The final entry came from Sana Tufail, a 22-year-old amateur from England, who filed three minutes before the 5 p.m. EDT deadline on April 17.

Players still have several opportunities to gain a full exemption into the U.S. Women's Open. The winner of any LPGA co-sponsored event prior to the start of the U.S. Women's Open, including this weekend's Lotte Championship in Oahu, Hawaii, will earn an exemption into the championship field. Additionally, any player in the top 50 point leaders and ties from the Rolex Rankings as of May 27 who is not already exempt will be added to the field.

More information about the U.S. Women's Open, including a variety of ticket options, is available at <u>uswomensopen.com</u>.

The following 100 golfers are fully exempt into the 2019 U.S. Women's Open (as of April 18):

Na Yeon Choi	Jihyun Kim	Sung Hyun Park
Hyejin Choi	In-Kyung Kim	Jane Park
Chella Choi	Hyojoo Kim	Inbee Park
Pei-Yun Chien	Megan Khang	Annie Park
Ashleigh Buhai	Cristie Kerr	Ryann O'Toole
Celine Boutier	Sarah Kemp	Amy Olson
Aditi Ashok	Haeji Kang	Su Hyun Oh
Brittany Altomare	Danielle Kang	Ji Hyun Oh
Marina Alex	Moriya Jutanugarn	Anna Nordqvist

In Gee ChunSei Young KimSuzann PettersenCarlota CigandaKatherine KirkPornanong Phatlum

Jacqui Concolino Jinyoung Ko So Yeon Ryu

Paula Creamer Lydia Ko Lizette Salas

Laura Davies Jessica Korda Supmas Sangchan

Lindy Duncan Nelly Korda Jenny Shin

Austin Ernst Brittany Lang Jiyai Shin

Jodi Ewart Shadoff
Saranporn
Langkulgasettrin
Jennifer Song

Langkulgasettiiii

Shanshan Feng Bronte Law Mariah Stackhouse

Sandra Gal Jeongeun Lee Angela Stanford

Hannah Green Mi Hyang Lee Jasmine Suwannapura

Jaye Marie Green Minjee Lee Ai Suzuki

Jenny Haglund Mirim Lee Emma Talley

Georgia Hall Soyoung Lee a-Patty Tavatanakit

a-Leonie Harm Jeongeun Lee6 Pannarat Thanapolboonyaras

Nasa Hataoka Pernilla Lindberg Lexi Thompson

Caroline Hedwall Yu Liu Ayako Uehara

Brooke Henderson Yan Liu Anne Van Dam

Mamiko Higa Gaby Lopez **Karrie Webb**

Wei-Ling Hsu Mo Martin Michelle Wie

Charley Hull Caroline Masson Amy Yang

a-Jiwon Jeon Ally McDonald Angel Yin

Eun Hee Ji Gerina Mendoza Sakura Yokomine

a-Shannon Johnson Azahara Munoz

Ariya Jutanugarn Misuzu Narita

Bold - U.S. Women's Open champion

a - amateur