USGA Media Center

NEW YORK, N.Y. (Feb. 7, 2015) – Thomas J. O'Toole Jr., of St. Louis, Mo., has been elected to serve a second one-year term as the 63rd president of the United States Golf Association. The election of officers and the 15-member USGA Executive Committee also took place today at the USGA's Annual Meeting in New York City.

O'Toole will continue to lead the USGA's professional staff of more than 300 and nearly 1,200 volunteers who serve on more than 30 committees. Together with The R&A, the USGA governs the game worldwide.

"This year marks the beginning of a new and exciting time for the USGA," said O'Toole. "We will begin our new broadcast partnership with Fox Sports, launch two new Four-Ball Championships and conduct our first U.S. Open in the Pacific Northwest. This is a historic time and I am honored to continue to work with our staff and the Executive Committee to guide the game we all love into the future."

Following his election as president at the 2014 Annual Meeting at Pinehurst Resort & Country Club, O'Toole has worked to focus the Association's resources to address the long-term viability of the game and the USGA's role in securing golf's future.

In his Annual Meeting remarks, O'Toole addressed the organization's strategic priorities for 2015. Celebrating the USGA's tradition of championship excellence; maintaining its governance role in the modern era; supporting a healthy, sustainable game; and fostering a welcoming and accessible golf community through collaboration were key themes.

A full version of O'Toole's speech can be found here: http://www.usga.org/news/2015/February/Transcript-USGA-Annual-Meeting-Remarks-by-Tom-O-Toole-Jr-/

"The Association is entering one of the more pivotal periods in its 120-year history and we could not be happier to have Tom's leadership and vision," said USGA Executive Director Mike Davis. "Over the last year Tom has helped us address key issues vital to the game's long-term health. He has been a supportive partner to the staff, Executive Committee and our allied associations."

O'Toole has been involved with the USGA since 1988 and has served as a Rules official at more than 140 USGA championships, including every U.S. Open Championship since 1990. He has also been the official in charge for more than 125 USGA championship qualifiers. In addition to chairing the Championship Committee from 2010 to 2013, O'Toole was a member of the Rules of Golf Committee from 2004 to 2013.

In 1992, O'Toole helped to found the Metropolitan Amateur Golf Association, which serves eastern Missouri and central Illinois. He continues to serve on its executive board.

O'Toole, a partner in the law firm of Mickes Goldman O'Toole, LLC, chairs its Business and Corporate Group, while his practice focuses on real estate, specializing in zoning/land use, condemnation and real estate transactions. He earned both his undergraduate degree (1979) and law degree (1985) from St. Louis University.

At the Annual Meeting, four other current members of the Executive Committee were elected to serve as officers: Diana M. Murphy, of St. Simons Island, Ga., and William W. Gist IV, of Omaha, Neb., as vice presidents; Sheila C. Johnson, of Middleburg, Va., as secretary; and Mark E. Newell, of McLean, Va., as treasurer.

In addition, Ernest J. Getto, of Santa Barbara, Calif., has been elected to serve a third term as general counsel for the USGA.

The other six current members of the Executive Committee continuing their service are: William E. Fallon, of Pittsburgh, Pa.; C. Malcolm Holland III, of Dallas, Texas; C. Thomas Hough, of Atlanta, Ga.; Asuka Nakahara, of Merion, Pa.; Mark P. Reinemann, of Pewaukee, Wis.; and George J. Still Jr., of Atherton, Calif.

Four new members were elected to the 2015 Executive Committee: J. Stuart Francis, of Hillsborough, Calif.; Robert D. Kain, of Gates Mills, Ohio; Martha J. Lang, of Birmingham, Ala.; and Gregory B. Morrison, of Duluth, Ga.

Four current members of the Executive Committee retired at the 2015 USGA Annual Meeting: Karen S. Ammerman, M.D., of Webster, Mass.; Daniel B. Burton, of Lititz, Pa.; William L. Katz, of Chatham Township, N.J.; and Edward G. Michaels III, of Atlanta, Ga.

Media Contact: Janeen Driscoll (jdriscoll@usga.org)

https://mediacenter.usga.org/2015-02-07-Otoole-Elected-To-Second-Term-As-Usga-President